Jennifer Reichelt 2018-02-22T15:31:40+00:00

Better a late calling – than never: Jennifer Reichelt and her K3

What differentiates man and woman when hunting? The answer to this question is often that women are hunting in a more self-controlled, cooler and often more disciplined way than their male colleagues. People who know Jennifer Reichelt can confirm this. The 39-year-old is no less of a hunter than any man – and sometimes she is even a step ahead of them.

In her youth, she was a vegetarian – out of love for animals. It needed a hunting terrier mix from the animal shelter to get her on track. The little one had an established hunting drive and infected his owner with it. Her rifle – a K3 single shot rifle as Stutzen, fits all the prejudices of female hunters. One shot is enough for the 39-year-old to take down even strong and resisting game – firing away is not her style.

Merkel Mood K3 Stutzen
Merkel FoM JR
Merkel Mood K3 Stutzen

She ordered the rifle with a Lady DS stock. This special stock is adjusted to female anatomy. The difference? “The butt stock is shorter, the pistol grip is steeper and has less volume, the butt plate is softer and has a different form, the stock comb is higher and straighter – than a stock for a “male fellow”. Jennifer Reichelt smiles, as she always mocks a little bit, when the gender difference in hunting is the topic. No wonder: In the woods and meadows, females are still outnumbered – but they are catching up. And they are in no way inferior to male hunters – without denying the femininity. No, the attractive brunette from Swabia, living in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, is truly no mannish woman. She openly confesses: It was the best decision in her life to get a hunting licence.

. 308 Win. is her calibre and the K3 is such a wonderfully light and handy rifle, that you could sometimes almost forget, that it is made for shooting. “I do not like to carry too much around with me; my equipment is, if possible, perfectly adjusted to the hunting task. ” The things she values about the light-weight single-shot rifle is the combination of a straight stock and the universal calibre – both together ensure a moderate recoil: “It is known, that light-weight rifles like to kick …” No, her K3 does not kick and looks, in the Stutzen version with the full length fore-end, like a real, beautiful and traditional hunting rifle. A good team and each carved from a special piece of wood: dog, Jenny – and the K3.

Jennifer Reichelt / Germany

The 39-year-old is a trained nurse, works a deputy manager in a home for assisted living and initially had no relation to hunting. Only her dog – a hunting terrier crossbreed – has awakened the passion in her. Her Merkel rifle: The single shot rifle K3 with Lady-DS-stock. 

How did you get to hunting?
Jennifer: In my youth, I renounced products form industrial farming and live das a vegetarian for almost 20 years. Then, a hunting-terrier-crossbreed from the local shelter came into my life. It soon became obvious, that this dog was not satisfied with going on walks and he rather needed an activity that suited his breed. Working with the dog and the first successes have moved me. It seems that he awakened something in me, which probably sleeps within most humans somewhere. Shortly after I got to know a foresters daughter, whom I told about my interest in working with a hunting dog and also my newly found interest in hunting. From then on, I was allowed to accompany her when she went hunting, learn more around the backgrounds of it and share wonderful experiences with her and her family. She encouraged me a lot and strengthened me as a woman to get my hunting licence. This is a decision, which I have not regretted for a single day.

What is your preferred type of hunting?
Jennifer: I love hunting from a high seat. The game comes calmly, I can take my time selecting the right animal and I can fire of a save shot. The stress for the animal is almost non-existent.

What and where do you enjoy hunting the most?
Jennifer: I will never get tired of hunting wild boar, as this game species always creates new challenges for hunters and is quickly to adapt.

Do you have a hunting dream?
Jennifer: Once Africa, always Africa … Whoever has been there, fells a constant pull back there. It is a fascinating continent and my dream is to return to South Africa once in my lifetime. To hunt warthogs and bushpig.

What is your favourite calibre?
Jennifer: 8×57 IRS – – for me it is the all-round-cartridge for the local game species like red deer, wild boar, roe deer and fallow deer.

Finally, what is your hunting guiding principle?
Jennifer: Whoever is a real hunter can be seen on special signs; he lowers his rifle at many an animal, even if he could reach it.

Merkel FoM Portraet Jennifer Reichelt

Single shot rifle K3 Lady DS

> read more

Jennifer Reichelt 2018-02-13T17:36:19+00:00

Besser spät berufen als nie:
Jennifer Reichelt und ihre K3

Was unterscheidet Mann und Frau bei der Jagd? Auf diese Frage hört man immer wieder die Antwort, dass Frauen selbstbeherrschter, kühler und oft disziplinierter der Jagd nachgehen als ihre männlichen Kollegen. Wer Jennifer Reichelt kennt, kann das bestätigen. Die 39jährige steht einem Mann jagdlich in nichts nach – und manchmal hat sie den Männern sogar etwas voraus.

In der Jugend hat sie sich vegetarisch ernährt – aus Tierliebe. Erst ein Jagdterrier-Mischling aus dem Tierheim setzte sie auf die Fährte. Der Kleine hatte einen ausgeprägten Jagdtrieb und steckte sein Frauchen an. Ihr Gewehr – eine K3 Kipplaufbüchse als Stutzen, passt gut zum Vorurteil den Damen auf der Jagd gegenüber. Der 39jährigen genügt ein Schuss vollkommen, um auch starkes und wehrhaftes Wild zur Strecke zu bringen – „ballern“ ist ihre Sache nicht.

Merkel Mood K3 Stutzen
Merkel FoM JR
Merkel Mood K3 Stutzen

Das Gewehr hat sie mit einem Lady-DS Schaft geordert. Diese spezielle Schäftung ist der weiblichen Anatomie angepasst. Der Unterschied? „Der Hinterschaft ist kürzer, der Pistolengriff weniger voluminös und steiler, die Schaftkappe weicher und anders geformt, der Schaftrücken höher und gerader – als beim Schaft „für Mannsbilder“. Jennifer Reichelt lächelt, denn so ein bisschen spöttelt sie, wenn die Rede auf den Geschlechterunterschied beim Jagen kommt. Kein Wunder: Immer noch sind Frauen in Wald und Flur deutlich in der Unterzahl – aber sie holen auf. Und sie stehen den Jägern in nichts nach – ohne ihre Weiblichkeit zu verleugnen. Nein, ein Mannweib ist die attraktive Brunette aus Schwaben mit Wohnsitz in Mecklenburg wahrlich nicht. Offen bekennt sie: Es war die beste Entscheidung ihres Lebens, den Jagdschein zu machen.

.308 Win. ist hier ihr Kaliber und die K3 ein so wunderbar leichtes und führiges Gewehr, dass man manchmal fast vergessen könnte, dass es zum Schießen ist. „Ich schleppe nicht gern viel mit mir herum, meine Ausrüstung ist möglichst genau der jagdlichen Aufgabe angepasst. “ An der leichten Kipplaufbüchse schätzt sie die Kombination aus dem geraden Schaft und dem universellen Kaliber – beides zusammen sorgt für einen moderaten Rückstoß: „Man weiß ja, dass leichte Gewehre zuweilen dazu neigen, zu treten…“ Nein, ihre K3 tritt nicht und als Stutzen mit dem mündungslangen Vorderschaft sieht sie aus wie ein richtiges, wunderschönes, traditionelles Jagdgewehr. Ein gutes Team und jeder für sich aus besonderem Holz geschnitzt: Hund, Jenny – und die K3.

Jennifer Reichelt / Deutschland

Die 39-jährige ist gelernte Krankenschwester, arbeitet als stellvertretende Leiterin in einem Heim für betreutes Wohnen und hatte ursprünglich gar keinen Bezug zur Jagd. Erst ihr Hund – ein Jagdterriermischling – hat in Jennifer den Jagdtrieb geweckt. Ihr Merkel-Gewehr: Die Kipplaufbüchse K3 mit Lady DS-Schaft. 

Wie kamst du zum Jagen?
Jennifer:
Ich habe in meiner Jugend auf Produkte aus industrieller Massentierhaltung verzichtet und nahezu 20 Jahre vegetarisch gelebt. Dann trat ein Jagdterrier-Mischling aus dem örtlichen Tierheim in mein Leben. Es stellte sich schnell heraus, dass sich dieser Hund nicht mit „Gassigehen“ zufrieden stellen ließ, sondern eine Beschäftigung braucht, die seinen Anlagen entspricht. Die Arbeit mit dem Hund und die ersten Erfolge haben mich begeistert. Es scheint, als habe er in mir etwas geweckt, was wohl in den meisten Menschen irgendwo schlummert. Kurz darauf lernte ich eine Försterstochter kennen, der ich von meinem Interesse an der Arbeit mit Jagdhunden und meiner entstandenen Neugier für die Jagd erzählte. Fortan durfte ich sie auf ihren Ansitzen begleiten, mehr über die Hintergründe erfahren und wunderschöne Erlebnisse mit ihr und ihrer Familie teilen. Sie hat mir viel Mut gemacht und mich darin bestärkt, als Frau den Jagdschein zu machen. Diese Entscheidung habe ich keinen einzigen Tag bereut.

Was ist deine bevorzugte Jagdart?
Jennifer: Mir liegt die Jagd vom Ansitz. Das Wild kommt vertraut, ich kann in Ruhe ansprechen und einen sicheren Schuss abgeben. Der Stress bei den Tieren ist minimiert.

Was und wo jagst du am liebsten?
Jennifer: Nie werde ich müde Schwarzwild zu jagen, denn diese Wildart stellt jeden Jägerin immer wieder vor neue Herausforderungen und lernt schnell dazu.

Hast du ein jagdliches Traumziel?
Jennifer: Einmal Afrika, immer Afrika… Wer einmal da war, den zieht es immer wieder dorthin. Es ist ein faszinierendes Land und mein Traum ist es, in diesem Leben noch einmal nach Südafrika zurück zu kehren. Auf Warzenschwein und Bushpig.

Was ist dein Lieblingskaliber?
Jennifer: 8×57 IRS – für mich die Allround-Patrone für die hier vorkommenden Hauptwildarten wie Rotwild, Sauen, Rehwild und Damwild.

Zum Abschluss: Dein jagdlicher Leitspruch?
Jennifer: Denn was ein rechter Jäger ist, der hat auch seine Zeichen, er senkt’s Gewehr vor manchem Wild, wenn er’s auch könnt‘ erreichen!

Merkel FoM Portraet Jennifer Reichelt

Kipplaufbüchse K3 Lady DS

> mehr