Philippe Jaeger 2018-02-22T15:08:51+00:00

Roebuck hunting in the land of the Gauls

Hunting is deeply anchored in the genes of the French people: Almost 1,3 million hunters are present in the country – more than in any other European region. The majority of hunters are from wide, agriculturally characterized regions. One, who knows more than almost anyone about hunting in France, is Philippe Jaeger. Being a hunting journalist and photgrapher, he has travelled all around the world, but also explored almost every area of hunting in France. One of the favourite destinations of the Alsatian is the department Tarn et Garonne, a piece of western France, not very developed for tourism, situated between the Mediterranean Sea and the Atlantic. We are accompanying him and his K3 on a stalk.

There are hunters who know the area like the back of their hand, there are hunters who know the flora and fauna and there are those who are excellent shots. Then there are people like Philippe Jaeger, who opened up to hunting with thought and intuition. You get the feeling, that this strong, trained person who is in his prime could be dropped with a parachute, his rifle (and his small Münsterländer Oryx) anywhere in the world – together they would find their way and prey. A complete hunter.

The department Tarn et Garonne is a large, park-like terrain with oak forests, meadows, fields surrounded by field walls and hedges. In-between, there are far-flung farmsteads and the characteristic houses and pigeon towers made from field boulders. To summarise: a paradise for roebucks. As everywhere else in Europe, these horned fellows are in the rut during the middle of the summer. Hunting time! The air is shimmering in the summer heat of 35 degrees.

The French hunters are organised in local associations; every association has its own shooting plan, which is strictly controlled by the authorities – there is a hunting police present and every shot animal has to be marked straight away. Whoever is caught with a shot animal that is not marked with a band between tendon and leg is risking a lot: hunting license, expensive equipment – possibly even the car he used to get into the hunting area. It may be the difference in philosophy that makes these hunting grounds so attractive to German hunters: Bucks here carry (seemingly undisturbed) opulent trophies through the forests and meadows. The reason for this might be, that the French colleagues, in the tradition of Obelix the Gaul, are mainly interested in wild boars – and happily and cheaply sell the licenses for roe deer to the hunting tourists.

Merkel FoM PJ
Merkel FoM PJ
Merkel FoM PJ

“It is light and very precise, even at great distances. And it is so beautiful, a classic. ”

Far and wide no “Mirador”, that’s how they call the high seat here: The preferred hunting method here is stalking and the Merkel K3 single-shot rifle is an ideal companion for this. Philippe Jaeger: “It is light very precise, even at great distances. And it is so beautiful, a classic. ” The single shot rifle is built from wood and steel around an aluminium bascule. The locking mechanism of the steel tilted block goes back to the Suhl gunsmith Franz Jaeger. The tilted block locks the barrel at the top in an over-hanging groove and at the bottom with a pin. Using this, the tilted block absorbs the force of any cartridge without straining the aluminium bascule. The tilted block is a key element of this handy, light-weight construction, which does not weigh more than 2,9kg and is easily carried through woods and meadows. Philippe Jaeger uses it in combination with the calibre. 270 Win. A special feature of this rifle is the in three stages variable weight of the finely tuned trigger – to do this, a small lever is located on the trigger guard. General rule: the farther the shot, the lower the weight.

Jaeger carries a wooden caller. And you quickly realize that he has mastered this difficult, musical art excellently. In any case he will get attention every time when a buck crosses his stalking path. The deceptive trick of Jaeger: The caller imitates the call of a fawn – the buck knows, that the doe cannot be far away from it. Philippe’s equipment is completed by light-weight 8×32 binoculars and a shooting stick made from carbon, for which he fashioned a sound dampening out of leather. Soundless movement is one of the top priorities for a hunter.

“K3 and stalking fit well together”

“K3 and stalking fit well together” says the hunter. Nonetheless the flexible shooting stick allows the strengths of the rifle on the steady rest to be played out: the one, single precise shot. Late at noon an old king, with a 530g heavy crown, fell right after the shot. Shot distance: far! More than 200 meters. France is a far land.

Philippe Jaeger / France

How did you become interested in hunting
Philippe: That was a process. I am enthusiastic about ornithology and this led me to increasingly close contact with nature.

What is your preffered type of hunting?
Philippe: The stalking of high game.

What and where do you enjoy hunting the most?
Philippe: Roe deer and chamois in the mountains.

Do you have a hunting dream?
Philippe: To hunt as long as possible with my son.

What is your favourite calibre?
Philippe: Small but fine.

Last: Your hunting motto?
Philippe: Respect nature.

Merkel FoM Portraet Phillippe Jäger

Single shot rifle K3

> read more

Philippe Jaeger 2018-02-13T17:42:56+00:00

Bockjagd im Land der Gallier

Die Jagd ist tief in den Genen der Franzosen verankert: Fast 1,3 Millionen Jäger zählt das Land – mehr als in jeder anderen Gegend Europas. Das Gros der Jäger kommt aus den weiten, landwirtschaftlich geprägten Regionen. Einer, der sich wie kaum ein anderer mit der Jagd in Frankreich auskennt, ist Philippe Jaeger. Als Jagdjournalist und Fotograf hat er die ganze Welt bereist, aber auch fast jede Gegend Frankreichs jagdlich ergründet. Eine der Lieblingsdestinationen des Elsässers ist das Departement Tarn et Garonne, ein Stück Südwestfrankreich, touristisch wenig erschlossen, zwischen Mittelmeer und Atlantik gelegen. Wir gehen mit ihm und seiner Merkel K3 auf Pirsch.

Es gibt Jäger, die kennen ihr Revier wie ihre Jackentasche, es gibt Jäger, die kennen Flora und Fauna, und es gibt solche, die exzellente Schützen sind. Und es gibt Menschen wie Philippe Jaeger, die haben sich die Jagd mit Verstand und Intuition komplett erschlossen. Man hat das Gefühl, dass man diesen kräftigen, trainierten Menschen, der im Saft seiner besten Jahre steht, irgendwo auf der Welt mit seinem Gewehr (und seinem Kleinen Münsterländer Oryx) über einem Jagdrevier am Fallschirm abwerfen könnte – die beiden fänden sich zurecht und machten Beute. Ein kompletter Jäger.

Das departement Tarn et Garonne ist eine große Park–landschaft mit Eichen-Mischwäldern, Wiesen, Feldern, gesäumt von Feldmauern und Hecken. Dazwischen weit verstreut Gehöfte und die charakteristischen Häuser und Taubentürme aus Feldsteinen. In Summe: Ein Paradies für Rehböcke. Wie überall in Europa sind die Gehörnten mitten im Sommer in der Brunft. Jagdzeit! Die Luft über der hügeligen Landschaft flirrt in der sommerlichen Hitze von 35 Grad.

Die französischen Jäger sind in lokalen Vereinen organisiert; jeder Verein hat seinen eigenen Abschussplan, der behördlicherseits streng kontrolliert wird – es gibt eine präsente Jagdpolizei und jedes erlegte Stück muss sofort markiert werden. Wer mit Beute ohne Markierungsband zwischen Sehne und Lauf erwischt wird, setzt allerhand aufs Spiel: Jagdschein, die teure Ausrüstung – möglicherweise auch das Auto, das den Jäger ins Revier gebracht hat. Es mag an weltanschaulichen Unterschieden liegen, dass diese Jagdreviere für deutsche Jäger so attraktiv sind: Böcke tragen hier (scheinbar unbehelligt) opulentes Gehörn durch Wald und Flur spazieren. Das liegt daran, dass die französischen Jagd-Kollegen in der Tradition der Obelix-Gallier sich vornehmlich für Wildschweine interessieren – und die Abschüsse für das Rehwild gern und günstig an Jagdtouristen abtreten.

Merkel FoM PJ
Merkel FoM PJ
Merkel FoM PJ

„Sie ist leicht und auch auf weite Distanzen sehr präzise. Und sie ist so schön, ein Klassiker. “ Weit und breit kein Mirador, wie der Hochsitz hier heißt: Bevorzugte Jagdart ist die Pirsch und die Merkel Kipplaufbüchse K3 dabei ein idealer Begleiter. Philippe Jaeger: „Sie ist leicht und auch auf weite Distanzen sehr präzise. Und sie ist so schön, ein Klassiker. “ Das einläufige Kipplaufgewehr baut aus Holz und Stahl um eine Aluminiumbasküle. Das Verschlussprinzip des stählernen Kippblocks geht auf den Suhler Büchsenmacher Franz Jäger zurück. Der Kippblock verriegelt den Lauf oben in einer Überhangsnut und unten an einem Zapfen. Damit nimmt der Kippblock die Stoßbodenkraft jeder Patrone auf, ohne die Alu-Basküle zu belasten. Der Kippblock ist ein zentrales Element dieser führigen Leichtbau-Konstruktion, die kaum 2,5 Kilogramm auf die Waage bringt und sich leicht durch Hain und Flur trägt. Philippe Jaeger führt sie im Kaliber. 270 Win. Eine Besonderheit dieses Gewehrs ist das in drei Stufen verstellbare Gewicht des Feinabzugs – direkt am Abzugsbügel gibt es dafür ein Hebelchen. Faustregel: Je weiter der Schuss, desto niedriger das Gewicht.

Jaeger hat einen hölzernen Blatter dabei. Und man merkt schnell, dass er dieses schwierige musikalische Handwerk exzellent beherrscht. Jedenfalls wird ihm stets Aufmerksamkeit zuteil, wenn ein Bock seinen Pirschpfad kreuzt. Der trügerische Trick des Jaeger: Der Blatter imitiert die Fieplaute des Rehkitz – und der Bock weiss, dass die Ricke da nicht weit sein kann. Philippes Ausrüstung komplettiert ein leichtes 8×32 Pirschglas und ein Pirschstock aus Carbon, für den er mittels lederner Überzieher selbst eine Geräuschdämmung entwickelt hat. Geräuscharme Fortbewegung ist oberste Pflicht des Pirschjägers.

„K3 und Pirschjagd passen gut zusammen“

„K3 und Pirschjagd passen gut zusammen“, sagt der Waidmann. Nicht zuletzt der flexibel stellbare Pirschstock sorgt dafür, dass das Gewehr in der stabilen Auflage seine Stärken ausspielen kann: den einen, einzigen präzisen Schuss. Am späten Nachmittag liegt ein alter König mit einer 530 Gramm schweren Krone im Feuer. Schussdistanz: weit! Über 200 Meter. Frankreich ist ein weites Land.

Philippe Jaeger / Frankreich

Der 48-jährige Philippe Jaeger ist Jagdjournalist und Übersetzer und kommt aus dem Elsass. Er liebt und respektiert die Natur – besonders die Berge. Privat führt er die Kipplaufbüchse K3.

Wie kamst du zum Jagen?
Philippe
: Das war ein Prozess. Mich begeistert die Ornithologie und bin dadurch in immer engeren Kontakt mit der Natur gekommen.

Was ist deine bevorzugte Jagdart?
Philippe: Die Pirsch auf Hochwild.

Was und wo jagst du am liebsten?
Philippe: Reh und Gams in den Bergen.

Hast du ein jagdliches Traumziel?
Philippe: So lange wie möglich mit meinem Sohn zu jagen.

Was ist dein Lieblingskaliber?
Philippe: Klein aber fein.

Zum Abschluss: Dein jagdlicher Leitspruch?
Philippe: Respekt vor der Natur.

Merkel FoM Portraet Phillippe Jäger

Kipplaufbüchse K3

> mehr