Home EngravingsGravurenGravuresГРАВИРОВКАGravyrerGrabado

THE MAGIC OF ENGRAVING

Hunting, magic and art have been inextricably linked from the beginning. It could be that it was hunting that inspired people to make art. And it was art that became the implement of magic during the hunt. Since then works of art have magically evoked hunting success which was a necessity of life – specialists speak of “symbolic magic”.

The result of the hunt is demonstrated and anticipated in symbols. The hunters paint the animal on the cave walls, to enchant it, so to speak. Prehistoric men symbolically threw the spear at the cave wall paintings and believed their weapons would hit the animal when the hunt was for real.

The engraving of the rifle emanates from the tradition of the symbolic magic. Two main categories of motifs can be identified: stylised tendrils – called arabesques. And the naturalistic motifs, according to Dürer, the so-called nature
or animal motifs.

The first stage of the engraving work is transcribing the outline onto the workpiece. This requires a trained eye, scriber and steel compasses. The actual engraving is a metal-shaving technique. It is performed with a light hammer and graver. Gravers are fine chisels in various thickness with shaped blades and wooden handles.

The workpiece is clamped in 360 degree rotating vice for processing. Fine shading is cut with a hand graver, used without a hammer and driven only by the strength of the engraver. In Italian this graver is called “bulino” – this gives the name to this art form with the graver.

Files in various forms and cut levels as well as abrasive cloth in different grains round off the range of tools used by the engraver. There is a diversity of other ornamentation form around engraving: colour case hardening, gold or silver inlaying, punching or chasing and inlaying with various precious materials.

Over 15 male and female engravers – each one a master of the trade and experienced in all the engraving disciplines – decorate Merkel hunting rifles to make them unique specimens.

ALMOST EVERYTHING IS POSSIBLE


Engraving is a combination of handcraft and concentration. The men and women at Merkel process the hard steel for hours and make an organic work of art from the plain piece of metal that will adorn a hunting rifle. Engraving at Merkel is individual work: there are virtually no limits placed on the customer‘s wishes. The following illustrations should therefore be taken solely as stimulating examples. Almost anything is possible.

Detailed work with hand graver.

Hard-earned masterpiece: ’Jagd’ ornamental engraving. Part 1

Suhl “Bulino“ engraving with chiselled base.

Ornamental engraving “English Arabesque“.

A festival of arabesques: the Merkel logo is engraved.

Hard-earned masterpiece: ’Jagd’ ornamental engraving. Part 2

Deep relief engraving with vivid game motifs and leaf ornamentation.

Colour case hardening with gold inlays.

Stormvision kreation
republik24

Home EngravingsGravurenGravuresГРАВИРОВКАGravyrerGrabado



                 YOU NEED THE FLASH-PLUGIN TO VIEW THIS CONTENT.

VOM ZAUBER DER GRAVUR

Jagd, Magie und Kunst sind seit Anbeginn untrennbar verbunden. Vermutlich war es sogar die Jagd, die den Menschen zur Kunst inspirierte. Und die Kunst war es, die bei der Jagd zum Werkzeug der Magie wurde. Magisch beschwören seither Kunstwerke den lebensnotwendigen Jagderfolg – die Fachleute sprechen von „Analogiezauber“.

Das Ergebnis der Jagd wird in Symbolen demonstriert und vorweggenommen. Der Jäger malt das Tier an die Wand der Höhle, um es gleichsam zu bannen. Der Frühmensch wirft den Speer symbolisch an die Felsbilder und glaubt, die Waffen werden im wirklichen Jagdgeschehen das Tier wiederum treffen.

Die Gravur des Gewehrs entstammt der Tradition des Analogiezaubers. Dabei lassen sich zwei große Kategorien von Motiven identifizieren: Die stilisierten Pflanzenranken – Arabesken genannt. Und die naturalistischen Motive, nach Dürer die sogenannten Natur- oder Tierstücke.
Am Beginn der Gravierarbeit steht das Übertragen des Entwurfs auf das Werkstück. Ein auf Proportionen geschultes Auge, Reißnadel und Stahlzirkel helfen dabei. Das eigentliche Gravieren ist eine spanabhebende Technik. Vollzogen wird es mit dem leichten Hammer und den Graviersticheln. Gravierstichel sind feine Meißel mit Holzheft in unterschiedlichen Stärken und unterschiedlich geformten Schneiden.

Das Werkstück wird zur Bearbeitung in einen um 360 Grad drehbaren Schraubstock eingespannt. Für feinste Schattierungen wird der Handstichel eingesetzt, der ohne Hammer nur mit Muskelkraft geführt wird. Im Italienischen heißt dieser Stichel „bulino“ – er ist namensgebend für diese Kunstform der Gravur.

Feilen in unterschiedlichen Formen und Hiebstufen sowie Schleifleinen in unterschiedlicher Körnung runden das Werkzeug-Portfolio des Graveurs ab. Es bieten sich mannigfaltige weitere Veredelungsformen rund ums Gravieren an: Bunteinsätze, Gold- oder Silbereinlagen, Punzierungen oder Ziselierungen und Intarsien aus unterschiedlichen edlen Materialien.

Über 15 Graveurinnen und Graveure – jede und jeder ein Meister des Fachs und erfahren in allen Gravur-Disziplinen – veredeln Merkel Jagdgewehre zu Unikaten.

Gravuren - Fast alles ist möglich

Gravieren ist Hand- und Konzentrationsarbeit. Stunden- und tagelang bearbeiten die Graveurinnen und Graveure bei Merkel den harten Stahl und machen aus dem nüchternen Stück Material ein lebendiges, ausdruckstarkes Stück Kunst, das dann ein Jagdgewehr zieren wird. Gravuren bei Merkel sind Individualarbeit: Den Wünschen des Auftraggebers sind kaum Grenzen gesetzt. Die folgenden Abbildungen sollten deshalb einzig als Anregung verstanden werden. Fast alles ist möglich.

Detail-Arbeit mit dem Handstichel.

Hart erarbeitetes Meisterwerk: Eine Tierstückgravur ‚Jagd‘ entsteht - Teil 1.

‚Suhler Flachstich‘ mit ausgestochenem Grund.

Ornamentgravur ‚Englische Arabesken‘.

Das Festival der Arabesken.

Hart erarbeitetes Meisterwerk: Eine Tierstückgravur ‚Jagd‘ entsteht - Teil 2.

Reliefgravur mit plastischen Tierstücken und Blattornamenten.

Bunteinsatz mit Goldeinlage.

Stormvision kreation
republik24